After last week’s Charles Schwab Challenge, it’s time for the next PGA Tour tournament.

The 2023 Memorial Tournament tees off today, June 1st, at Jack Muirfield Village Dublin, Ohio, and will feature some of the biggest names in the golf world. 

Who is likely to challenge for the top spot at the 2023 Memorial Tournament?

The world’s top-three ranked players – Scottie Scheffler, Jon Rahm, and Rory McIlroy will grace the Memorial Tournament among other top talents, including 23 of the top 50. Billy Horschel beat 13 under to defeat Aaron Wise by four strokes and win the 2022 Memorial Tournament.

However, Billy has undergone a deep decline in his form over the last year and is a long shot to repeat the success in this year’s event.

Patrick Cantlay and John Rahm have enjoyed success in the previous tournaments, with the former winning the 2019 and 2021 editions. Rahm won the 2020 event but withdrew from the 2021 edition when he was the favourite to defend the title. 

In his six Memorial Tournament career appearances, Cantlay has won twice, finishing top-4 four times. He has gained strokes on approach and off the tee in all six outings and has always been on top form, putting on fast Bentgrass greens.

Rahm will be looking to bounce back from a disappointing PGA Championship Tour as he aims at clinching the fifth win of the PGA Tour season. A win here will place him alongside Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, and Jason Day as recent players to win five titles in a PGA Tour season.

Rahm will also aim to use this chance to take back the World No.1 position from Scottie Scheffler, whom they have been alternating recently.

Scottie Scheffler (6/1), Jon Rahm (7/1), and Patrick Cantlay (10/1) are the favourites to emerge victorious at the 120-player Memorial Tournament invitation field. Rory McIlroy (12/1) and Xander Schauffele (14/1) are also strong contenders this weekend.

2023 AT&T Byron Nelson favourite Scottie Scheffler

The Muirfield Village Golf Club

The last four Memorial Tournaments at the Muirfield Village have produced different playing conditions but still presented similar leaderboards. Patrick Cantlay won the 2019 edition at -19 with only eight players reaching double digits under par.

The 2020 Covid-19 disruptions made the organizers schedule back-to-back events at the Muirfield Village in July. The first occurred at the Workday Charity Open, where Collin Morikawa beat Justin Thomas in playoffs at -19. The field was filled with greens that slowed the game and made it more receptive.

A week later, the greens had completely changed at the Memorial Park, increasing the game’s pace and making it extremely firm. This made it difficult to play with a long-iron approach. Jon Rahm dominated the event winning by three strokes at -9.

After the conclusion of the 2020 Memorial, the staff at Muirfield Village embarked on an extensive renovation of the field. After the renovations in 2021, the field had longer yardage, featuring new greens complexes and other modifications. 

Rahm started the 2021 event in high gear and was six strokes clear in the first three rounds tallying at -18, placing him in a great position to defend the title. However, he withdrew mid-through after testing positive for Covid-19. John Cantlay lifted the title at -13 after beating Morikawa in the playoff.

The 2022 tournament was also won at -13 by Billy Horschel, playing in calm conditions to defeat Cantlay, Aaron Wise, and Max Homa.

Muirfield Village Golf Club course

2023 Memorial Tournament odds

Scottie Scheffler6/1
Jon Rahm 7/1
Patrick Cantlay 10/1
Rory McIlroy 12/1
Xander Schauffele 11
Viktor Hovland 14/1
Collin Morikawa 22/1
Cameron Young 30/1
Jordan Spieth 30/1
Justin Thomas 30/1
Jason Day 30/1
Rickie Fowler 35/1
Tyrrell Hatton 35/1
Sungjae Im 40/1
Hideki Matsuyama 40/1
Matt Fitzpatrick 40/1
Corey Conners 40/1
Russell Henley45/1
Sam Burns 45/1
Shane Lowry 55/1
Sahith Theegala 55/1
Tom Kim 60/1
Adam Scott 65/1
Si Woo Kim 65/1
Wyndham Clark 65/1
Matt Kuchar 80/1
Gary Woodland 80/1
Keith Mitchell 100/1
Denny McCarthy 100/1
Keegan Bradley 100/1
Cam Davis 100/1
Emiliano Grillo 100/1
Byeong Hun An 125/1
Kurt Kitayama 125/1
Billy Horschel 125/1
Harris English 125/1
K.H. Lee 125/1
Brian Harman 125/1
Adam Hadwin 125/1
Chris Kirk 150/1
Ryan Fox 150/1
Taylor Montgomery 150/1
Hayden Buckley 150/1
Nicolai Hojgaard 150/1
Patrick Rodgers 150/1
Lucas Herbert 175/1
Christiaan Bezuidenhout 175/1
Seamus Power 175/1
Beau Hossler 175/1
Tom Hoge 175/1
Stephan Jaeger 175/1
J.T. Poston 200/1
Thomas Detry 200/1
Andrew Putnam 200/1
Matt NeSmith 200/1
Aaron Rai 200/1
Adam Schenk 225/1
Davis Riley 225/1
Justin Suh 225/1
Mark Hubbard 250/1
Adam Svensson 250/1
Alex Smalley 250/1
Brendon Todd 275/1
Joseph Bramlett 275/1

Memorial Tournament recent winners

Year    Golfer
2022Billy Horschel
2021Patrick Cantlay 
2020Jon Rahm
2019Patrick Cantlay
2018Bryson DeChambeau
2017Jason Dufner
2016William McGirt
2015David Lingmerth
2014Hideki Matsuyama
2013Matt Kuchar
2012Tiger Woods 
2011Steve Stricker
2010Justin Rose
Billy Horschel wins the Memorial Tournament - Lifting the trophy

If you want more content like this on the golf, check out our Golf section.